top of page
Professional Info

Prof. Amit Kumar Dinda is officer in-charge of Division of Renal & he has keen interest in experimental pathology with interdisciplinary research in immunopathology, tissue engineering, cancer biology and Nanomedicine. He is actively working in the area of application of Nanotechnology in Medicine and Nanotoxicology. His laboratory has developed nanoparticle based oral gene delivery system and nanoadjuvant for developing single shot booster free vaccine, development of novel nanocarriers for AmphotericineB, technology for delivering 4 anti-tubercular drugs in one nanoparticle, macrophage targeted SiRNA delivery system for reversal of Atherosclerosis plaque, combined chemo and photothermal therapy for superficial bladder cancer and study of long term fate and toxicity of gold nanoparticle. Visiting Professor in Albert Einstein Institute of Medical Sciences, New York 2004 -5, Visiting Professor University of New South Wales, Australia 2008. He is Founder Secretary of Indian Society of Nanomedicine (ISNM), Ex-President of Indian Society of Renal & Transplant Pathology, Ex-Vice President of Society for Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine (India) (SABOI), Ex-VicePresident, Electron Microscopy Society of India (EMSI), Fellow, Electron Microscopy Society of India (EMSI). He is member of several Task Force and other  committees under Department of Biotechnology, Department of Science & Technology, Department of Health Research, AYUSH and Indian Council of Medical Research. He is an certified assessor  for quality control with National Board of Accreditation Limited (NABL), Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) and Good Clinical Practice (GCP) systems in India.

  • Projects & funding (Since 2000):         International projects  -  1

                                                                         National projects  - 8,

  • Total Publication in indexed journal: 339, Indian Patent filed- 8

Work Experience
Awards &
  • National Scholarship in Higher Secondary Examination (1972)

  • First Certificate of Honor in Anatomy (MBBS, Calcutta University (1976)

  • First Certificate of Honor in Dental Surgery (MBBS, Calcutta University (1979)

  • Second Certificate of Honor in Ophthalmology (MBBS, Calcutta University (1979)

  • UICC fellowship for 13th UICC Training Course in Cancer Research, CCMB, Hyderabad (1989)

  • Best paper Award in VI Biennial Conference of India Assoc. Cancer Chemotherapy, New Delhi (1991)

  • Young Investigator's Award by Japanese Society of Dialysis Therapy (JSDT) (1995)

  • Young Investigator's Award by Japanese Society of Dialysis Therapy (JSDT) (1997)

  • Best paper Award in 10th Annual Conference of Indian Society of Organ Transplantation, New Delhi (1997)

  • Elected as Executive Member of Indian Group of International Society of Stereology (1997)

  • Elected as Member of Advisory Committee of "Development of Training Facility of Image Analysis and Stereology in India" (1998)

  • Distinguished Young Investigator's Award by Japanese Society of Dialysis Therapy (1998)

  • Selected as a resource person in the field of Renal Pathology by International Society of Nephrology for South East Asia (2000)

  • Qualified and selected as Technical & Lead Assessor for assessing laboratories for Accreditation by National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration of Laboratories (NABL) and Department of Science & Technology (DST) since February (2000)

  • Invited as a Guest of Honor by Srilanka College of Pathologists for 11th Annual Conference of Srilanka College of Pathologist and Oration on "Pathology of Lupus Nephritis : Recent Advances", 2nd September, 2001 at Kandy, Srilanka (2001)

  • Visiting Professor/Scientist in Molecular Nephrology at the Division of Kidney Disease and Hypertension at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New York, USA (2004)

  • Invited as an expert in the Meeting of the Programme Formulation Group on Cardio-Vascular Diseases by   Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, under the chairmanship of Prof.K.K.Talwar in  March, 2004 (2004)

  • Member of Indian section of International Society for Heart Research (2004)

  • Member of American Society of Nephrology (2005)

  • Member of Society of Neuro-Immuno-Pharmacology (SNIP) (2005)

  • Member of advisory committee for development of Center for Nanomaterial Research at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi (2006)

  • Member of advisory committee for development of Advanced Center for Nanotechnology at Calcutta University (2006)

  • Visiting Professor at Center for Biomedical Engineering, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia (2008)

  • Member of Expert Committee of Bauru of Indian Standard (BIS) on Biomedical Hazard and Nanotoxicity (2009)

  • Editor of Journal of Indian Society of Transplant an Renal Pathology (2009)

  • Member of Academic Council for Special Center for Molecular Medicine, JNU, Delhi (2010)

  • Inspector for GLP under Dept. of Science & Technology, Govt. of India (2010)

  • Member of the Task Force Committee for Nano-Biotechnology, Dept. of Biotechnology, Govt. of India (2011)

  • Member of the Expert Committee for Development of Nanosafety Regulation, in India, Indian Council of Medical Research (2013)

  • Fellow of Electron Microscopy Society of India (EMSI) (2011)

  • Vice-President of Electron Microscopy Society of India (EMSI)  (2012)

  • Dr. P.C. Sengupta Memorial Oration at School of Tropical Medicine, Kolkata (2014)

  • President of Indian Society of Renal & Transplant Pathology (2013)

  • Founder Secretary, Indian Society of Nanomedicine (ISNM)  (2015)

  • Member, Advisory Committee, Regulatory Frame Work, Nano-Mission, Department of Science & Technology (DST), Govt. of India (2016)

  • Trained expert for Good Clinical Practice (GCP) (2016)

  • Prof. Arun Banerjee memorial oration at IPGMER Kolkata (2016)

  • AIIMS Award for Research Excellence (2017)

  • International Association of Advanced Materials (IAAM) Medal for the year 2017 for notable and outstanding contribution in the field of "New Age Technology & Innovations" (2017)

bottom of page